Friday 15th January 2021

State Track qualifying results from yesterday include:

Ames’  Bernard Bell Jr. captured the 100- and 200-meter dash titles, and helped the Little Cyclones win the 4×200 relay to advance to state. Also moving on the 4X 800 relay and the sprint emdley teams, along Kasean Domond in the shot put.

Led by three relay teams, the Little Cyclones girls team qualified in eight different events for the state meet.

Marshalltown’s Grace Stalzer advancing in the discus and shot put.

West Marshall senior Isabelle Gradwell will compete in three individual events at 2A State;  the 400-meter run, 110 hurdles and the high jump. The Trojans’ 4×400 team also earned a qualification by taking second, as did Renae Schaper by taking second in the shot put.

South Hardin junior Brylie Zeisneiss took first in the shot put and in the discus.

West Marshall boys qualified five to state;

Joe Halverson won the 800-meter,  Beau Coberley placed second in the long jump,

Also, the Trojans’ 4×400 team qualified, as did the sprint medley and 4×200 relay teams.

East Marshall is sending three to State;  Justin Ridout \ in both the shot put and the discus.  The 4×800 team also took first to advance.

Zakee Newman was the lone automatic qualifier for South Hardin in the 3,200 meters

AGWSR junior Aubrie Fisher will compete on three events at State; the 800-meter race and the 3,000 .

Grundy Center sophomore Kyah Luhring also earned a state berth  by winning the 200.

The Spartans 4×400 and sprint medley relay team of also qualified

On the boys side, Will Grames was the lone automatic qualifier for Grundy Center, in the 200-meter.

The BCLUW boys track and field team had three qualifications; The sprint medley relay team,  Caleb in the 3,200-meter run; and Jack Garber in the 110 high hurdles.

Team qualifiers  must await today’s announcements of at-large berths by the Iowa High School Athletic Association and Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>